I built and ran this website between 2000 and 2001, combining passion for popular music and programming. It was listed by MTV's now defunct MusicNewswire as one of the then nascent web's top twenty sources, alongside Billboard and VH1. The most exciting part of it — for a 13/14-year-old excited by new music — was receiving scores of pre-release CDs from record companies. The entire project was written entirely from scratch (frameworks and libraries were not the norm back then!) in PHP linking to a MySQL database, with HTML as well as a little CSS and JavaScript for the frontend; the code is available here.

Girish Gupta

Music Goes On


Moby To Release "Play - The DVD"
2 July 2001 | 0:00:00 GMT/UTC

Moby will be releasing a DVD to accompany last year's 'Play' albumMoby will be releasing a DVD entitled Play - The DVD on 23 July. The DVD features exclusive audio and visual material including a short film and an audio CD of Moby's Megamix.

One of the highlights of the DVD is the previously unseen 20 minute film entitled Give An Idiot A Camcorder which was shot by Moby during last year's world tour. The film features backstage festival footage.

The package also includes a full-length exclusive 88-minute visual Megamix by Moby, as well as all the videos from the Play album. Also included is some live footage from Jools Holland's Later... programme.

The set is completed with an audio CD featuring an edited version of the Megamix. The full tracklisting is:

Give An Ididot A Camcorder

A 20-minute movie by Moby, starring Moby
Live on Later...

  • Natural Blues
  • Porcelain
  • Go
  • New Dawn Fades
  • Everloving
  • Porcelain Acoustic
  • Moby's Megamix

  • Porcelain (Futureshock Remix)
  • Natural Blues (Katcha Mix)
  • Honey (Sharam Jey's Sweet Honey Mix)
  • Bodyrock (Olav Basoski's Da Hot Funk Da Freak Funk Remix)
  • Natural Blues (Peace Division Dub)
  • Run On (Dani K╦ćnig Remix)
  • South Side (Pete Heller Park Lane Vocal)
  • Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? (Katcha Remix)
  • Natural Blues (Perfecto Remix)
  • Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? (Ferry Corsten Remix)
  • Porcelain (Torsten Stenzel's Vocaldubmix)
  • South Side (Hybrid Dishing Pump Instrumental)
  • Natural Blues (Mike D Remix)
  • Run On (Moby's Young & Funky Mix)
  • Honey (Moby's 118 Remix)
  • Bodyrock (Rae & Christian Remix)
  • Run On (Dave Clarke Remix)
  • Porcelain (Clubbed To Death Version By Rob Dougan)
  • Play - The Videos

  • Bodyrock (Auditions) (Fredrick Bond)
  • Honey (Roman Coppola)
  • Find My Baby (Barnaby And Scott)
  • Porcelain (Jonas Akerland)
  • Natural Blues (David La Chapelle)
  • Bodyrock (Fredrick Bond)
  • Run On (Mike Mills)
  • Why Does My Heart Feel So Bad? (Animated)
  • Natural Blues (Animated)
  • Porcelain (Nick Brandt)
  • Play - The Computer

    Use the Beatnik Player to remix two of Moby's songs

    RELATED: Moby
    Moby Turns To Music After Terrorist Attacks

    Moby Blames FBI, CIA For Failing To Stop Attacks

    Moby - Give An Idiot A Camcorder (VIDEO)

    More info on Moby
    in Artists

    Comment on Moby
    in Forums

    Add Moby To Your Mailing Lists
    in Mailing Lists

    Basement Jaxx Microsite
    Mick Jagger Juke Box

    Home | News | Reviews | Artists | Forums | Live | Audio/Video | Interviews
    Contact Us | Advertising

    © 2000-1 Music Goes On